Just another WordPress.com site

Before the Pork Came Marching In.

Moni, ChrisB, Anne, and I were at the Eyeball site while the sun was still up. This allowed us to visit the roasting station and have a sneak peek at the lechons rolling, roasting and sweating on top of coals. We were there while Mrs. Marketman and the Teen were doing finishing touches to flower arrangements. I am the least interested in floral arrangements and how they are done but these were amazing. Lotus flowers and roots were arranged in fishbowls and their colors were really intense especially against a background of a roughly finished wooden picnic table and a gray deck. Color, contrast, emphasis, balance.

The floral arrangement and the rough wooden table looked perfect together. I really love the rough wooden table. It reminds me of the old Robin Hood movies where they feasted on huge roasted legs of deer and Friar Tuck’s brewskies.

I can use this color palette and principle of balance on a graphic design project. Again obsessing on the wooden table… You can easily pull out a little splinter to pick out all the lechon bits stuck on your teeth. I did not. Seriously. I did not do it.

This was the buffet area before it bore the brunt of the collective weight of pork goodies. Imagine a parade of platters of Five-Pork Fried Rice, Chicharon fresh from the cauldron, Sisig from chopped lechon heads, a truffled lechon de leche, a chili lechon, a butter basted lechon de leche, a lechon stuffed with chickens, an amazing kinilaw na tanguigue, Zubuliempo, roasted corn, seafood paella.  And there was seaweed salad and an assortment of pickles to cleanse your palate and your conscience. This was the altar where conversations were in hushed whispers among a catatonic group of zombies not knowing what do after a visual, olfactory and taste overload.

Until the next Marketmanila Lechon Eyeball.

7 responses

  1. Lee, the photos are amazing! I was still stuck at an interview and got to the venue late… the tables were only finished a few days before and had not even been sanded! 🙂 They should weather a bit in the coming weeks and look more worn. But I like your description of the old feasts with entire legs of meat… we should offer a lechon feast with no utensils, just an all out “kinamot” fest. Many thanks for posting these photos…

    July 2, 2011 at 5:10 am

  2. I forgot to ask you.. did that caped and masked man do the interview?

    July 2, 2011 at 5:17 pm

  3. Footloose

    You love photography; you will like this. It’s my favourite camera reviewer, an obviously English educated Chinese young man who speaks a charming, clear, clipped, non-u British accent.

    July 5, 2011 at 6:10 am

  4. I actually hate how he has access to all these goodies. He did a good preview of a camera I’m dreaming of – the Fujifilm X100. Nifty little shooter in a metal body.

    July 5, 2011 at 10:16 am

  5. Footloose

    I have a poor man’s Leica, a Contax G1 that the thief that broke into my apt while I was in Brazil must have examined, rejected and left strewn on my living room rug. It’s a film camera so I haven’t used it in a long while. Awaiting a product that loads like a roll of film but actually has a sensor that stores the images like an electronic device.

    July 5, 2011 at 10:30 pm

  6. take a look at this pretty little camera… http://www.finepix-x100.com/

    I think this would work for you at significantly less than leica price.

    July 5, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  7. I feel so bad I had to miss the eyeball this year! Siiigh… Maybe next year (fingers crossed)!

    August 30, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

